Teacher Professor

January 3, 2011

Update: Sleep Resolution

Filed under: Uncategorized — Teacher Professor @ 7:27 pm

See?!  I’m not the only one!  Apparently, Arianna Huffington, no slouch herself, discusses the power of more sleep in her recent TED Talk.  She says I’ll get more done the more I sleep…

Which, 4 days into 2011, is in jeopardy.  Monday morning was the beginning of school again after the break.  Ray, unable to even voice his anxiety, just rocked himself when I tucked him into bed.  We went through the whole 45 minutes, 37 steps that it takes (teeth brushed, pajamas, Bee pillow pet is placed just so, Penguin Pillow pet is placed to the right of him, the Daddy pillow is underneath it all, “House Hunters” is on silent on the TV in the living room that he can see, three kisses on the cheeks and the chin, air kisses, clap of hands to receive them, snuggle for 10 minutes…).  But I could see in his rigid body and his lack of words that he was anxious.  Frozen.  And he loves school.  sigh…

So, at 9:30, he came into my room for another hug- 30 minutes after tuck-in.  He came back at 11:00.  And yet again, at 1:30.  When, at 2:30, he was back again, I let him into my bed, too tired to fight it.  He then fell into a deeper sleep- and proceeded to kick.  I woke up at 6:00 tired- again. 

I can feel myself splintered today- tired, needing some quiet time to knit back together.  Which WILL NOT be after 10:00 tonight… I hope.

1 Comment »

  1. Melatonin really helped our older child (if we had another one, I’d strongly consider that name). He takes it in liquid form, now is only up once a night a few times a week rather than every night several times. Fingers crossed it gets better…

    Comment by autismmommytherapist — January 4, 2011 @ 9:49 am | Reply

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

