Teacher Professor

May 14, 2010

It Still Stings

Filed under: Autism — Teacher Professor @ 8:15 pm

I just had the oddest conversation with my grandmother….  My grandmother is 86 years old and generally very well-informed.  I had sent her a copy of my book a month ago and had never heard from her in our various conversations since about it- whether she had received it or liked it or anything.  Finally, I just came right out and asked her.  “So, Gran.  Did you get the book?”

“I did.  Thank you so much!  It was certainly interesting, although a little thin on plot.”  Oh good.  A joke- probably. “I’ll be sharing it with the family across the street who have a darling little girl who they say has issues, but she’s absolutely darling, so I just don’t see it.  But Claire Elizabeth, where did you get all of your stories to write about?”

“Well, Gran.  That’s what happened to us… and I was hoping that our story could help others.”

“You don’t mean that our lovely girl has… that?”

And just like that, I was right back to THAT place.  The place when I was first dealing with the label, the differences, the heartbreak, and the worry.  The horrible feeling that “Autism” didn’t/couldn’t mean MY child- it’s some other child who belongs to some other  mom who can cope, some mom who could deal with the isolation, the fear and the loneliness.  Some mom who didn’t have this bright, shining star of a child who was being dimmed by…. this.  A child who, I knew- I just knew- and really hoped- and still hope- that with enough love and therapy and whatever I could do, would wake up one day and NOT have… this.  A child who would NOT be locked into a wordless world of sensation and fear.  A child who would be really and truly herself.

And that place of shame- of keeping to our family and our close friends and keeping Elizabeth away from crowds and other children because I could not handle the differences and the fear and the looks and the hurt that went along with it.  The place where I didn’t tell and I tried to manage everything.  The place, that ultimately, faded and morphed and altered until I see my girl coping and blooming and becoming who she is.   Autism is part of our lives still, but it does not control her – or us.

And I was annoyed that I felt that again- and defensive for Elizabeth and defensive for me and defensive for my grandmother’s neighbor across the street.

“You know, Gran, she can be marvelous and have autism.”

We’ve come so far- and yet, it still stings…


  1. and something for us to remember when we are older? that paradigms change. i’m sure our thinking will seem outdated to our children.
    i had an uncle who was … racist. he just couldn’t shake those knee-jerk reactions he had learned when he was young.

    it’s amazing that someone could read that whole book and still think in terms of “other”. “them”, “that”, “those”, “it”- whatever it is that I’m “not.” but i’m just naive like that.

    kudos to you and your family for redefining “labels”. it’s a hard row to hoe.

    Comment by zola — May 15, 2010 @ 10:06 am | Reply

  2. Sorry. Like Zola says, we will have outdated notions to our grandchildren someday. Forgive grandma for her ways and move on. At some point the elderly enter their second childhood and they’re not interested (and possibly incapable) of seeing beyond themselves.

    Comment by Laura — May 15, 2010 @ 8:33 pm | Reply

  3. I know.. I even explain about the terms have changed in my book… but it was sad to be snapped back to being defensive. And obviously, more education is needed for everyone- even my own family! I wonder what our grandchildren will be rolling their eyes about us? 🙂

    Comment by profmother — May 16, 2010 @ 1:58 pm | Reply

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

