Teacher Professor

February 9, 2010

What’s Your Color?

Filed under: Autism,Exceptionality issues — Teacher Professor @ 10:42 am

There are two new interesting studies out about color.  The first, is that there is a definitive link between mood and color.  While this tends to fall into the “duh” category of research (Really?  I’m feeling “blue” means that I’m depressed? ), it is interesting that anxious people PREFER more muted colors than “healthy” people.  And, perhaps very excitingly, it’s being used as a means of communication with people who may not have very strong language skills.

I see incredible use of this for people with autism and other language delays.  In his book, Born on a Blue Day, Daniel Tammet, who has high-functioning autism, describes how he interconnects color with all kinds of other information- numbers have associated colors, as do dates, and people.  Color is not his only use of sensory information (numbers also have emotions and sounds associated with them), but there is a definite relationship.  If teachers and parents were to use a color chart and allow children to choose the color of the moment, there would be some excellect communication!

The other interesting piece of research comes from USA Today where they ran a Color Career test to a large group of people.  CEOs came out significantly different, preferring the color of magenta more than other people.  I was intrigued and took the test myself- where it defined me as a Creator type primarily, with Organizer second best.  Yup, that pretty much aligns with other tests I’ve taken, such as the Myers-Briggs, which has me as a Intuitive/Feeler and then a Sensory/Thinker.  And all because I like to look at greens and blues!

I think everyone knows that there is a connection between mood and color.  Style experts say that turquoise is “the” color of the year because people are trying to cheer themselves up.  The first time I went to New York City, I made the mistake of wearing a long skirt in swirling colors of blue and green with splashes of red.  I stood out clearly as a tourist, yet in Santa Fe, I’m rather dull.  But to use color as a communication device or as a means of aligning personality traits- that’s wonderful!

Today- I’m feeling rather olive green… You?


  1. I love to wear gray especially in the winter but I get really tired if I see a lot of gray skies. What could that say about me?

    Comment by Laura Albright — February 10, 2010 @ 1:36 pm | Reply

  2. No idea! You’re ok with being depressed in the winter? 🙂

    Comment by profmother — February 10, 2010 @ 1:45 pm | Reply

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

